New Mexico Public Employees Retirement Association

Board Meeting

Thursday, August 31, 2023

1. Call to Order

This monthly meeting of the Public Employees Retirement Board was called to order by Diana Rosales Ortiz, Vice-Chair, at approximately 10:06 on the above-cited date at the PERA Building, 33 Plaza la Prensa, Senator Fabian Chavez, Jr. Board Room, Santa Fe, New Mexico.

2. Roll call

The meeting attendance met quorum with the following members present;

Board Members Present

Board Members Absent

Claudia Armijo

Valerie Barela

Paula Fisher

Tony Garcia

Laura Montoya

Loretta Naranjo Lopez [out at 12noon]

Francis Page

Shirley Ragin

Roberto Ramirez

Augustine Romero

Diana Rosales Ortiz

Maggie Toulouse Oliver [out at 12noon]

Staff

Greg Trujillo, Executive Director

Trish Winter, Executive Assistant

Anna Williams, Deputy Director

Michael Shackelford, CIO

LeAnne Larranaga-Ruffy, Deputy CIO

Lynette Kennard, CFO

Anthony Montoya, General Counsel

Misty Schoeppner, Deputy General Counsel

Sara Hume, Director, Beta & Risk

Kate Brassington, Investment Associate

Clayton Cleek, Investment Associate

Michael Killfoil, Investment Associate

German Gutierrez-Cardoza, Investments

Shaun Grady, Investments

Karyn Lujan, Deferred Compensation Plan Manager

Xochitl Gutierrez, Budget Manager

Gerladine Garduno, Assistant General Counsel

Others in Attendance

Eileen Neill, Verus Consulting Samantha Grant, Verus Consulting Steve Neel, ERB Roslyn Higgin, Environment Dept. Juan Diaz, Workforce Solutions Department

Others Attending Virtually

Joanna Bewick, Wilshire Steve DiGirolamo, Wilshire Ryan Falls, Gabriel Roeder Smith and Company John Kreienkamp, NM State Treasurer's Office

3. Approval of Agenda

Francis Page moved to approve the agenda; second from Valerie Barela. Motion passed as follows:

Claudia Armijo Yes Valerie Barela Yes Paula Fisher Yes Tony Garcia Yes Laura Montoya Yes Loretta Naranjo Lopez Yes Francis Page Yes Shirley Ragin Yes Roberto Ramirez Yes Augustine Romero Yes Diana Rosales Ortiz Yes Maggie Toulouse Oliver Yes

4. Approval of Meeting Minutes

Francis Page moved to approve July 13, 2023 Board minutes. Paula Fisher seconded. Motion passed with a roll call vote as follows;

Claudia Armijo Yes Valerie Barela Yes Paula Fisher Yes Tony Garcia Yes Laura Montoya Yes

Loretta Naranjo Lopez No

Francis Page Yes Shirley Ragin Yes Roberto Ramirez Yes Augustine Romero Yes Diana Rosales Ortiz Yes Maggie Toulouse Oliver Yes

5. Approval of Consent Agenda

Francis Page made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda as amended. Paula Fisher seconded. The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote as follows:

Claudia Armijo Yes Valerie Barela Yes Paula Fisher Yes

Tony Garcia	Yes
Laura Montoya	Yes
Loretta Naranjo Lopez	Yes
Francis Page	Yes
Shirley Ragin	Yes
Roberto Ramirez	Yes
Augustine Romero	Yes
Diana Rosales Ortiz	Yes
Maggie Toulouse Oliver	Yes

6. Reports of Committees

A. SmartSave Committee; August 31, 2023. Valerie Barela, Committee Chair reported on the meeting and made the motion to Approve the Committee Recommendation to Award the Investment Consultant Contract for the PERA SmartSave Deferred Compensation Plan to Meketa. Francis Seconded the motion. Motion passed as follows:

Claudia Armijo	Yes
Valerie Barela	Yes
Paula Fisher	Yes
Tony Garcia	Yes
Laura Montoya	Yes
Loretta Naranjo Lopez	Yes
Francis Page	Yes
Shirley Ragin	Yes
Roberto Ramirez	Yes
Augustine Romero	Yes
Diana Rosales Ortiz	Yes
Maggie Toulouse Oliver	Yes

B. Audit & Budget Committee; August 31, 2023. Roberto Ramirez, Committee Vice Chair reported and made the motion to approve the Committee Recommendation of FY25 Appropriation Request. Francis Page seconded the motion. Motion passed as follows:

Claudia i Illingo	1 00	
Valerie Barela	Yes	
Paula Fisher	Yes	
Tony Garcia	Yes	
Laura Montoya	Yes	
Loretta Naranjo Lopez		No
Francis Page	Yes	
Shirley Ragin	Yes	
Roberto Ramirez	Yes	
Augustine Romero	Yes	
Diana Rosales Ortiz	Yes	
Maggie Toulouse Oliver	Yes	

7. <u>Unfinished Business</u>

Claudia Armiio

B. General Consultant RFI Recommendations

Yes

1. <u>Approve RFI Committee Recommendations of termination of Wilshire Advisors LLC contract and approval of 8-year contract with Verus Advisory, Inc.</u>

Francis Page, Committee Chair and Michael Shackelford, CIO presented the RFI committee recommendations. Francis made the motion to approve the RFI committee recommendation. Laura Montoya seconded the motion. Motion passed as follows:

Claudia Armijo	Yes
Valerie Barela	Yes
Paula Fisher	Yes
Tony Garcia	Yes
Laura Montoya	Yes
Loretta Naranjo Lopez	Yes
Francis Page	Yes
Shirley Ragin	Yes
Roberto Ramirez	Yes
Augustine Romero	Yes
Diana Rosales Ortiz	Yes
Maggie Toulouse Oliver	Yes

8. New Business

A. Interview & Selection for Vacant State Board Member Position

- 1. Stephen J. Neel
- 2. Roslyn Higgin
- 3. Juan J. Diaz

Claudia Armijo Juan J. Diaz Valerie Barela Juan J. Diaz Paula Fisher Juan J. Diaz Tony Garcia Juan J. Diaz

Laura Montoya Stephen J. Neel

Loretta Naranjo Lopez Roslyn Higgin

Francis Page Stephen J. Neel Shirley Ragin Stephen J. Neel

Roberto Ramirez Juan J. Diaz Augustine Romero Juan J. Diaz Diana Rosales Ortiz Juan J. Diaz

Maggie Toulouse Oliver Stephen J. Neel

Juan J. Diaz was sworn in by Secretary of State, Maggie Toulouse Oliver.

D. CIO Report

Michael Shackelford, CIO presented the CIO Report. This was an informational item; no action taken.

E. Executive Director's Report

Greg Trujillo, Executive Director presented his report. This was an informational item; no action taken.

9. Public Comment

There was no request for public comment.

10. Adjournment

Laura Montoya moved to adjourn. Chair Rosales Ortiz adjourned the meeting at approximately 12:21pm with no other business to discuss.

Approved by:

Diana Rosales Ortiz, Board Chair

ATTEST:

Greg Frajillo, Executive Director